Hello World! I’m so excited to share my journey with Autism with you all.

First things, no real blog worth anything would BE anything without y’all knowing whose blog you’re actually reading.  My name is Tiffany, aka Tiffy.  “GlazedHamm” comes from a friggin’ deep love of glazed ham and given that my last name is Hammond, glazedhamm just felt right.  I hail from Texas (home of chili, giant steaks, and football IS life) and I am married to the most amazing guy on the planet, with the two most beautiful boys evaaaah.  I’m a stay at home mom and while for many it would appear that I have all this free time, my fellow Autismoms and dads know that isn’t always the case.  It’s a good day when I actually get to sit down for 3.5 minutes to eat a meal.  I love to write and tell stories and up until recently, I didn’t know what I could write about.  Then it dawned on me, Autism!  Autism is what I can write about.  Autism has dominated my life for the past six years and I feel as though I know enough about it to help others along their journey with it…and in return get some help and support of my own.  I have so much already written that has pretty much been a personal diary of sorts, and I do look forward to sharing some of my previous writings with y’all.

And now for my brief personal history with Autism.  My oldest, Aidan, who is now 8 years old, was diagnosed with Autism shortly before he turned two.  Crushed my heart in pieces, although this was a diagnosis I had been expecting for quite some time.  All I knew about Autism at the time was what shown during 45 second Autism Speaks commercials.  Shortly thereafter, I went through every emotion possible…shock, grief, resentment, you name it, I felt it.  I was depressed for about two weeks straight.  And then one day, it just clicked for me…like I was bopped (“bopped” is that even a word?  if not, it is today) on the head much like those poor folks who didn’t have their V-8.  Autism wasn’t the end for my son.  He deserved parents who wasn’t going to just give up on him.  He needed us to fight for him, to advocate for him, to guide him, and to love and accept him as he was.  From then on, I have done everything that I could to help my son.  He is now 8, he is on the severe end of the spectrum, non-verbal, with several sensory issues, but we have made so much progress and the future looks bright for him and I cannot wait to share all that has happened with him over the course of six years and what I hope for the future.

Josiah, my youngest, my firecracker, the biggest reason for my bulk purchase of Tylenol, is 6 years old, and he too, has Autism.  He is on the higher end of the spectrum and boy, is he a handful.  He is amazingly annoying at times, but I wouldn’t trade him for the world.  Aidan, either.

Having two boys on the spectrum isn’t easy…having them on opposite ends of the spectrum presents some unique challenges and I am often stressed to the max and oftentimes find myself literally wishing that Calgon would take me away, but I try to minimize those days of despair and hopelessness by focusing on my kiddos strengths, making time for myself and husband, and spending quality time with my family.

There you have it folks, a tiny glimpse in the my crazy, often chaotic life.

Sauce out.

Extra glaze:  I’m quirky, unpredictable, nerdy, and I love to laugh.  I do have to say that if you’re looking for one of those bloggers whose serious all of the time, this ain’t the blog for you…I’m not even sure I can be serious for more than five minutes.  I struggled with it writing this post ;-P

Leave a Reply

